Skip to content

Top Ten for 2010 (Or, Is This Seriously ANOTHER List of 2010 Favorites?)

January 1, 2011

Everybody’s doing it. I guess now that Santa’s already made his lists and checked them twice, it’s time for book bloggers to do the same. This was difficult for me. I only started blogging in September, so I don’t have a database to check and, frankly, it takes a really, really long time for me to slog through all my books. I haven’t managed to scan everything into LibraryThing or Goodreads yet. I also couldn’t decide how I wanted to organize my list. Should I do a Top Ten of the Decade? I was tempted. In the end, I decided that I’d list my top ten favorite book covers for 2010. In no particular order, here they are:

  1. I fell in love with this cover the moment I saw it. I love the moss on the rocks and the medieval-looking arch in the background. In my review of this book, I said that the cover deserved a better book. I stand by that.
  2. I doubt that Nightshade would fail to make any list of favorite book covers in 2010. And why should it? It’s beautiful. What doesn’t transfer over the internet is that it’s sparkly. It’s a lovely, moody cover that manages to convey the cold and the snow of the opening scene of the book.
  3. I read Brightly Woven before I started this blog so you haven’t had a chance to hear me wax poetic about it. It’s a wonderful historical fantasy that I’d recommend for those who enjoyed Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier.
  4. I loved the cover of this book more than I loved the book itself. It’s simple and evocative. I also appreciated the nod to the heroine’s green dress. It’s nice when you can tell that the designer of the book jacket has at least been told a little bit about the book.
  5. I haven’t read this book, but I can tell you what I like about it. First of all, I’m a sucker for anything that evokes a period. Usually my tastes run to the nineteenth century and everything after. I’m also especially fond of the new trend of embossing a floral design around the edges of these covers.
  6. Another book jacket that uses the embossing technique. But I think that my favorite aspect of this cover is the neat balance of the girl’s face with the red stripe down the left side. Though one would expect the eye to be drawn heavily to the left, the eye-catching crimson balances things out.
  7. While I think I would like this cover even better if it didn’t have the eponymous sapphire talisman dangling from the top, I like the blue-y feeling of this cover. It was probably done in ten minutes on Photoshop and I don’t know if it fits the story as I haven’t read the book, but it definitely looks like a book I would pull off the shelf.
  8. Did I mention that I’m heavily influenced by a book jacket that evokes a period? Well, here’s example number two. I like the dress and the slight overexposure caused by the light from the window. Plus, I like the title font. Together these things contrive to allow me to overlook the fact that the model’s hair is more messy than Regency.
  9. Any book cover by Kinuko Craft is going to be worth a glance. She doesn’t disappoint with The Bards of Bone Plain. It’s lush and fantastical. The children’s books she’s illustrated are among my favorites.
  10. I love how delicately pink this is. It shows that I have a well-developed girly side, I guess. I can’t tell you how many times this book has caught my eye in the bookstore. Then I’m disappointed when I pick it up and read the back cover blurb. Not of interest to me, but still: a lovely cover.

Tomorrow I’ll be introducing a new feature. It’s the opposite of this one: Book Covers That Make Me Glad I Bought a Kindle. See you then.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 9:54 pm

    I just finished reading Matched today! I’m glad it made your list. I agree, I liked the cover a lot too! đŸ™‚

  2. January 4, 2011 10:07 pm

    I totally agree. I loved both the Nightshade and the Matched covers! The Matched ARC cover was even better than the finished copy, in my opinion — it had this sparkly quality to it rather than the burnt quality of the final version.

Leave a Reply

