Skip to content

Small Town Contemporary Fantasy: Yet Another Subgenre for You to Enjoy

December 28, 2010

Courtesy of smalltowngems.com

The handle is a bit long, but it gives you the general idea. The most popular example is Sookie Stackhouse and Bon Temps. I enjoy the armchair-travel aspect of reading, especially when a story takes me to a place that feeds my Anglophilic heart. There are destinations that are overused in both fiction and television, though. Like, say, New York. Don’t get me wrong. NYC is awesome, but I still get excited when I find a book that has a setting that’s new or unusual. Learning about other cities is great, but I’m currently looking for the rural version of Urban Fantasy. Rural Fantasy? I don’t know if I’m ready to coin the term, but let me fill you in on the kind of thing I’m looking for.

First, the book should have a paranormal element. Vampires, werewolves, witches, heck I’d even accept post-apocalyptic. Hm. Sorry, no, not going to get sidetracked. The second requirement is a small town setting. I’d accept Teen fiction, but I’m more interested in Contemporary Fantasy/Paranormal Romance. Here are a few titles I’ve collected thanks to the communities at LibraryThing and GoodReads. But I’m looking for titles I haven’t heard of so please speak up with you have anything to add.

  • The Edge Books by Ilona Andrews
  • The Broken Heart series by Michele Bardsley
  • Casting Spells by Barbara Bretton
  • The Mercy Thompson series and the Alpha and Omega books by Patricia Briggs
  • Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine
  • The Bronwyn the Witch series by Candace Haven
  • Stormwalker by Allyson James
  • Selected titles from Shelly Laurenston’s Magnus Pack series
  • Solstice Wood by Patricia McKillip
  • Sunshine by Robin McKinley
  • A Date with the Other Side by Erin McCarthy
  • The Jane True series by Nancy Peeler
  • Shiver and Linger by Maggie Steifvater
  • Trash Sex Magic by Jennifer Stevenson
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

