Skip to content

PsP Week, Day Seven: A Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep

December 18, 2010

Last Day!

You probably recall that Jennifer Estep is the author of the Elemental Assassins series, or maybe you’re a Bigtime fan. What you might not know is that in 2011, Jennifer will make her YA debut. Touch of Frost, the first in her new Mythos Academy Series, will be published by Kensington. The Mythos Academy books are–yep, you guessed it–Private School Paranormals. I found out about them when I was doing research for my review of Spider’s Bite. I’m thrilled to be able to share with you some information that Jennifer sent to me about her new series. On her blog, Jennifer related the Mythos Academy books to the much beloved (by me) Veronica Mars TV show. Also, there’s Valkyries. For those of you who want more information than that (seriously, Veronica Mars and Valkyries aren’t enough?), here’s a brief synopsis Touch of Frost, which will be released in August 2011. I have more wonderful news: book two, Kiss of Frost, will also be released in 2011, albeit not until December. Sadly, there’s no cover art yet, but if I had to choose one, I’d pick a synopsis anyway. Oh, wait, before I start, here are some important links:

  • Click to preorder your copy of A Touch of Frost.
  • Click to visit Jennifer’s website.
  • Click to visit her blog.
  • Click here for Jennifer’s initial announcement about the Mythos Academy books. It has some juicy details, including a tidbit about the heroine’s love interest.

Synopsis:

The Mythos Academy books focus on Gwen Frost, a 17-year-old Gypsy girl who has the gift of psychometry, or the ability to know an object’s history just by touching it. Gwen’s magic lets her see everyone who has ever touched or used an object as well as feel their emotions — the good, the bad, and the ugly.

After a serious freak-out with her magic, Gwen finds herself shipped off to Mythos Academy, a school for the descendants of ancient warriors like Spartans, Valkyries, and more. The academy is located in the fictional suburb of Cypress Mountain, North Carolina, and the kids there are training how to use their magic and various skills to fight Reapers of Chaos. The Reapers are some seriously bad guys who want to free the evil god Loki from his mystical prison so Loki can take over the world and enslave everyone.

Gwen doesn’t think that she belongs at the academy or that she’s any kind of warrior, but she’s wrong — and she’s a lot stronger than she realizes.

Now, on with the extras:

Thank you so much to Jennifer Estep for this wonderful sneak peek!

Gwen’s class schedule

First period: English lit. I love books – really, I do – but would it kill the professor to let us read some freaking comic books or graphic novels every once in a while? Seriously, they’re so much more fun than all this so-called classic literature that I’m stuck reading all the time.

Second period: Calculus. I’m good at calculus, but I totally do not see the point of it. All those Xs and Ys are all hypothetical anyway, right?

Third period: Geography and world politics. The geography is interesting, but the world politics part is a total snooze. Besides, everyone knows that politicians lie.

Lunch break: A miserable hour where I get to eat by myself in the back of the dining hall while everyone else hangs out with their friends. Oh, goodie.

Fourth period: Chemistry. Meh. I’m totally ambivalent about chemistry.

Fifth period: Gym aka weapons training. I hate gym class. Hate it, hate it, hate it. Why can’t I just be book smart? I have a 4.0 GPA. Why do I have to be coordinated too? That’s just too much to ask.

Sixth period: Myth-history. Professor Metis is pretty cool, but it cracks me up that she and the other kids actually believe all this stuff about gods, goddesses, mythological monsters, and Reapers of Chaos. It’s not history, and it’s certainly not real. Uh, is it?

Afterschool detour: Yeah, I’ll admit it. I sneak off campus every chance I get, hop on a bus, and go see my Grandma Frost who lives close to the academy. What are the Powers That Were at the academy going to do – expel me?

Afterschool job: I have to hustle from my Grandma Frost’s house back to the academy so I can work at the Library of Antiquities a few days a week. Boring. But the worst part is Nickamedes, who actually thinks that all the dusty pieces of junk in the glass cases are real artifacts – that they actually have magic attached to them. Whatever, dude. I think you’ve been stuck in the library a little too long. Although, there’s this sword that I just can’t seem to stay away from …

Mythos Academy warriors and their magic

The students at Mythos Academy are the descendants of ancient warriors, so they all know how to fight and use weapons, and they all have magic as well. Here’s a little more about the warrior whiz kids, as Gwen calls them:

Amazons and Valkyries
Most of the girls at Mythos are either Amazons or Valkyries. Amazons are gifted with supernatural quickness. In gym class during mock fights, they look like blurs more than anything else. Valkyries are incredibly strong. Also, bright, colorful sparks of magic can often be seen shooting out of their fingertips.

Romans and Vikings
Most of the guys at Mythos Academy are either Romans or Vikings. Romans are super quick, just like Amazons are, while Vikings are super strong, just like Valkyries are.

More magic
As if being super strong or super quick wasn’t good enough, the students at Mythos Academy also have other types of magic. They can do everything from heal injuries, to control the weather, to form fireballs with their bare hands. The powers vary from student to student, but as a general rule, everyone is dangerous and deadly in their own special way.

Spartans
Spartans are the rarest of the warrior whiz kids. There are only a few at Mythos Academy and scattered throughout the world. But Spartans are the most deadly and dangerous of all the warriors because they have the ability to pick up any weapon – or any thing – and automatically know how to use and even kill with it. Even Reapers of Chaos are afraid to battle Spartans in a fair fight. But then again, Reapers rarely fight fair …

If you’re half as excited about Touch of Frost as I am, that’s still not enough. This is a series I’ll be standing in line for. Metaphorically, at least. Thanks again to Jennifer Estep. Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone!

If you’re sticking around, I’ll be posting the big end-of-PsP-Week Giveaway Contest later today, so tune in again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

