Skip to content

PsP Week, Day Six: Book Review of Out for Blood by Alyxandra Harvey and Giveaway Contest

December 17, 2010

December 21, 2011

Publishers: Walker Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: December 21, 2010

Format: ARC copy

Status: Third in the Drake Chronicles, following Hearts at Stake, and Blood Feud.

Source: ARC copy from the publisher

Genre: Teen, Paranormal, Vampire, PsP

Location: Violet Hill, somewhere Canada

Other Info: Book four, Bleeding Hearts, will come out in November 2011. Alyx is currently working on book number five. She also has a historical paranormal, Haunting Violet, due out next year. Remember? from last week’s Waiting on Wednesday? No? Ho-kay.

Book Description (from Goodreads):

Hunter Wild is the youngest in a long line of elite vampire hunters, a legacy that is both a blessing and a curse at the secret Helios-Ra Academy, where she excels at just about everything. Thanks to her friendship with Kieran Black, Hunter receives a special invitation to attend the coronation of Helena Drake, and for the first time, she sees the difference between vampires that must be hunted and vampires that can become friends—or even more. When students at the academy fall victim to a mysterious illness, Hunter suspects they are under attack from within. She will need someone she can trust to help her save the future of Helios-Ra . . . help that shockingly comes in the form of Quinn Drake, a drop-dead gorgeous vampire. Who said senior year would be easy?

I must admit that I was completely biased in favor of this book even before I read it. For one thing, it’s a PsP. For another, Quinn is my favorite Drake brother. Of course, Alyxandra Harvey completely won me over in favor of all the Drake brothers with the “roomful of Johnny Depps” comment. But I was really looking forward to Quinn’s book anyway. And I liked what I saw of Hunter at the end of Blood Feud. So, between the fact that I’d already read and enjoyed the first two books in the Drake Chronicles, I was already squeeing over Quinn and the whole PsP thing, I knew I was going to enjoy Out for Blood. Are you still interested in reading my review? Okay, good. I’ll keep it short because I know that what you’re really looking forward to is the giveaway contest.

What worked? I loved Quinn. No surprise there. I liked Hunter a whole lot, too. Talk about a kick-butt heroine. I also like that each book builds on the ones that come before, though I constantly find myself being surprised by how little time passes between them. Solange has only been a vampire for a few weeks, which makes me think that Alyx has some kind timetable of events planned. Of course, I always love books that let the readers check in with the previous heroes and heroines. Lucy is there in all her glory. Plus, we get a chance to get to know more Drake brothers. My new favorite is Nicholas. I also enjoyed learning about Helios-Ra. The Drake Chronicles take place in a world that has vampires, but where the majority has no idea they exist. It was fun to learn about the humans that do know about vampires.

What didn’t work? There wasn’t enough. I wanted to spend more time getting to know Quinn. We learn a lot about Hunter and the Helios-Ra but I wanted the kind of detail about him that includes the delicious little things: how he tugs on his left ear when he’s lying or that he keeps a copy of Tintin in Tibet on his bedside table. I also wanted more time for Quinn and Hunter’s relationship to develop. The attraction is passionate and believable (and hot, though I feel a bit weird saying that about a YA book). I just wanted more. I’m greedy like that.

Despite this, I really enjoyed Out for Blood. I think you will, too. It’s fun, funny, and action-packed, and a perfect tonic for anyone overloaded on angsty YA vampire fiction.

Contest Rules

  • This contest begins today (Fri., Dec. 15) and ends on Wed., Dec. 22, at 11:59.
  • This contest is open in the US only.
  • In order to enter the contest, please name a Canadian author.
  • +1 point if you subscribe to my blog.
  • +1 point if you’re already a subscriber.
  • Please include your name and your email in your comment, so I can contact you if you win.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 10:55 pm

    K.V. Johansen is a Canadian fantasy, science fiction, and children’s author.

  2. December 17, 2010 10:56 pm

    I subscribed to your blog.

  3. December 17, 2010 10:56 pm

    I’m already a subscriber.

  4. Moridin permalink
    December 18, 2010 7:13 pm

    Mavis Gallant

  5. December 18, 2010 8:24 pm

    Yann Martel, who wrote “The Life of Pi”.

    +1 already a subscriber

    kayla3194 at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

