Skip to content

Eight Nights of Books Giveaway Contest

December 8, 2010

There are eight nights of Hanukkah and I’ve toyed around with a number of ideas on how to make this giveaway contest work. I’ve decided on the theme of eight. I have chosen eight books. The winner will get to choose a book from the list when they win the contest. So, how to play? You must leave a comment and a list of eight things. Eight books, eight things you can’t live without, your eight cats, the eight times you’ve stubbed your choice. This Hanukkah-themed giveaway contest is all about choice. You choose your list of eight and the winner chooses their prize. Have fun with it! And if you’re not sure what books are up for grabs, check out the whole post–there’s a picture of all eight on here somewhere!

Here’s my list of eight:

Eight Places I’d Like to Visit:

  1. Portugal
  2. The Seychelles
  3. Charlotte Amalie
  4. Sydney, Australia (and the Great Barrier Reef)
  5. Vienna
  6. Prague
  7. St. Petersburg (but only in the summer)
  8. South Africa

Contest rules are as follows:

  1. There is only one entry per person.
  2. If you are not signed in when you comment, please include your email address in your post so I can contact you if you win.
  3. The contest is open to US residents only.
  4. The contest will end at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time, on Saturday, December 11, 2010.

The winner will be chosen randomly and be announced on the following Sunday.


11 Comments
  1. December 8, 2010 9:41 pm

    My blog settings were acting up. Please delete the two previous comments, and only allow this one to be submitted for the contest – my username wasn’t linked with the appropriate blog (the old one was deleted, and I forgot to switch it over…)

    My Top 8 Favorite Fictional Females

    1. Anita Blake (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series)
    2. Claudia (Interview With A Vampire – Anne Rice)
    3. Snow (The Princess Series – Jim C Hines)
    4. Alanna of Trebond (Song of the Lioness – Tamora Pierce)
    5. Lyra Belacqua (The Golden Compass – Philip Pullman)
    6. Moraine Damodred (The Wheel of Time – Robert Jordan)
    7. Sally Owens (Practical Magic – Alice Hoffman)
    8. Saiyuri (Memoirs of A Geisha – Arthur Golden)

  2. Moridin permalink
    December 8, 2010 10:47 pm

    Eight numbers that I like:
    1. 0
    2. 1
    3. pi
    4. 7
    5. 13
    6. i
    7. sqrt(2)
    8. infinity

  3. Teawench permalink
    December 9, 2010 7:36 am

    Eight Pets I’ve Loved (in no particular order):

    1. Casey – my first cat
    2. Kelly – our second
    3. Misty – technically my dad’s cat
    4 & 5. Monty & Nikki – the adorable sister cats
    6. Cocoa – the only dog on this list
    7. Jasmine – the first birthday present my husband gave me
    8. Scooby – one of the best cats ever. Saved him from ending up in a shelter or worse.
    teawench at gmail dot com
    Thanks!

  4. SandyG265 permalink
    December 9, 2010 7:58 am

    Eight places I’ve visited in the US

    1. Gettysburg, PA
    2. Yellowstone National Park
    3. Mount Rushmore
    4. Jackson Hole, Wyoming
    5. Baltimore, MD
    6. Denver, Colorado
    7. Salt Lake City, Utah
    8. Lake George, NY

  5. December 9, 2010 8:28 am

    My Eight Favorite Musicians

    1. James Hetfield (Metallica)
    2. Ozzy Osbourne
    3. Randy Rhodes
    4. Angus Young (AC/DC)
    5. Stevie Ray Vaughn
    6. Elvis
    7. Mariah Carey
    8. Mozart

    hellraisercollk@yahoo.com

  6. Pam Hager permalink
    December 9, 2010 4:47 pm

    The 8 hottest men in the books i’ve read:

    1)Cade August- Marly’s Choice
    2)Adam-Ask Adam -Jess Dee
    3)Khalid -Guilty Pleasures
    4)Mac-Mac’s Law-Sarah McCarty
    5)Chase-Guilty Pleasures
    6)Sam-Sam’s Creed
    7)Father Ralph-The Thorn Birds
    8)Rhett Butler-Gone With the Wind

  7. December 9, 2010 4:58 pm

    Here are 8 things I could never live without: (besides food, water and shelter)

    1. My family
    2. My friends
    3. My dog, Nikki
    4. my computer
    5. My doll collection
    6. My book collection
    7. My Bed
    8. My Grandma (she is dieing)

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    ChiKittie(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. December 9, 2010 5:37 pm

    Eight books that made me who I am today:
    (in no particular order)

    1. Anne of Green Gables, by L. M. Montgomery

    2. Jo’s Boys, by Louisa May Alcott

    3. The Forbidden Tower, by Marion Zimmer Bradley

    4. Kushiel’s Dart, by Jacqueline Carey (well, the whole first trilogy)

    5. A Theory of Shopping, by Daniel Miller

    6. Miss Rumphius, by Barbara Cooney

    7. 101 Famous Poems, ed. by Roy J. Cook

    8. Animal Rights, by Peter Singer

  9. December 9, 2010 7:56 pm

    I can’t enter (I’m Canadian) but I wanted to post my eight favourite books (No one’s done it yet). So in no paticular order.

    1-Dirty By Megan Hart
    2-Love Mine By JR Ward (I love the whole series but…)
    3-The Gargoyle By Andrew Davidson
    4-The Hunter’s Moon By OR Melling
    5-Change of Heart By Jodi Picoult
    6-Dreamland By Sarah Dessen
    7-The Time Traveler’s Wife By Audrey Niffenegger
    8-Guilty Pleasure by Lora Leigh (I’m with Pam in thinking that Khalid is stinking hot).

    I hope is was ok that I told you my top 8 even thought I can’t enter. I just thought this was a cool idea.

  10. December 10, 2010 6:36 am

    Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂 Let me list eight blog hosting websites:

    1. Blogger/blogspot
    2. WordPress
    3. Tumblr
    4. LiveJournal
    5. Blogster
    6. Open Diary
    7. Xanga
    8. Edublogs

  11. December 12, 2010 1:16 pm

    Random.org tells me that you, Moridin, are the winner of this contest. But I can’t find your email! Please send me your info at Rubysreads@gmail.com.

    Thanks to everyone who participated. If you’re still looking for giveaway contests to enter, Ruby’s Reads will be featuring one every day this week, so keep stopping by.

Comments are closed.

