Skip to content

Yeah, But He Probably Snores

December 7, 2010

Ah, heroes. They make us swoon and they make us sigh. Sometimes we envy the heroine and sometimes we want to hit her upside the head because she’s in love with a total jackwagon. See The Dark Prince. I often wonder if the heroes that I like in fiction would translate well into real life. After all, one of my favorite heroes is the alpha hero. But how would I feel about a man who, say, kidnapped me and made me drive him to his castle in Scotland (see A Hunger Like No Other)? At least, how would I feel about him in real life? I don’t think I’d be very fond of him. Although, you never know. I might be highly susceptible to Stockholm Syndrome. If my kidnapper was, say, Lachlain MacReive.

I think what I like most about alpha heroes is the sense you get that nothing is more important to them than their…I’m not sure what term to use here. Woman doesn’t quite work, but neither does wife or mate. I don’t know. Female counterpart. How does that work? Anyway, you know that the female counterparts (heroines?) of alpha heroes are extremely important to them. The best, most delicious kind of alpha hero is the one who has to curb his instincts, at least a little. He knows that his heroine (I give up) won’t put up with isolating, abusive behavior. I.e., forcing her to do things “for her own good,” being jealous of every male that comes into contact with her, putting her in a Teflon bubble. This is because, at heart, what’s important to the alpha male is what’s important to his, er, alpha female. God, the terminology here sucks.

That doesn’t mean that the alpha hero never gets it wrong. He does. And then us readers are in for some decent groveling. But the alpha hero isn’t going to give up because he made a mistake and the heroine’s mad at him. He’ll do what he has to do to make it right. You guys know I’m still talking about the good kind of alpha hero, don’t you? This is why an alpha hero needs a strong heroine. Not the kind that takes independence to the level of utter stupidity, but the kind that is firm and has limits. See Chloe from the Darkest Powers Trilogy. Derek is an alpha hero and he does push Chloe around a lot, but she doesn’t roll over and beg for more. She lets him know when he’s crossed the line.

So, even though I wonder what I would do in the case of a real-life alpha hero, I am fully able to appreciate them in the fiction I read. It’s probably (definitely) why I like werewolf books so much. What about you? Any thoughts?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 7:53 pm

    Alpha Males: Totally hot. I think. But I don’t know what I would think in real life. I think I’m with on this one. My favourite fictional alpha male(s) are the Brothers from JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. I think that type of man I would have no problem with in real life.

    I really am in love with your blog, I found you after you left a comment on A girl, books and other things’ blog. It’s very cool.

    • December 7, 2010 8:19 pm

      Gosh, thanks! I think I’ve read the first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood ages ago and I keep hearing about it. I want to reread it so I can work on the rest of the books in the series. The trouble is, now that I’ve started blogging, I’ve made a solemn vow to read series books in order. Also, now that I’ve started blogging, I have to read on a schedule. Hm, maybe I could review the first book from the perspective of a reread…
      Btw, I’m glad to see another bookblogger on WordPress! I was beginning to think I was the only one!

  2. December 8, 2010 7:00 am

    I’m with Sara on the Black Dagger Brotherhood men. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

