Skip to content

Book Blogger Hop (Dec. 3)

December 3, 2010

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted at Crazy for Books. This is my third week participating–it’s been fun visiting other blogs and seeing what everyone is reading.

Book Blogger Hop

“What very popular and hyped book in the blogosphere did you NOT enjoy and how did you feel about posting your review?”

One book that I’ve seen mentioned over and over on the blogosphere is Bitten by Kelley Armstrong. I loved the Darkest Powers trilogy, but when I got around to trying out Armstrong’s adult werewolf books, I wasn’t impressed. I didn’t hate them exactly, but my feelings about them were pretty meh. Mostly I had an aversion to the heroine. I wasn’t crazy about the hero, either. I never reviewed Bitten because I read it before I was a blogger, so I can’t answer the second part of the question.

The other book that comes to mind is Matched by Allie Condie. I got a review copy from LibraryThing, and I try to make an effort not to look at reviews once I know I’m going to review a book for my blog, so I didn’t see any other reviews until after I posted mine. I had seen all the buzz, though, and after I posted my own review, I was curious to see what others thought. I haven’t seen many negative opinions of it and that, frankly, surprised me.

And how did I feel about writing the review for Matched? The same way I always feel when I write a review that I know is going to be at least somewhat negative. I have to gird my loins and simultaneously forget about the author of book and remember them. I try to be honest about my opinion without crossing the line into book-bashing and one of the techniques I use to do this is to imagine the author reading my review. There’s thinking critically when reading a book and just plain being critical. I try to err on the side of the former.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 7:44 pm

    *Gasp* You didn’t like MATCHED? I’ll try not to hold that against you … For me, it was one book that actually DID live up to its hype. So many others haven’t for me. Oh well, not every book is for every reader.

    So glad to have found you via the Hop!

  2. December 3, 2010 8:14 pm

    Hopping through. I haven’t heard many people who didn’t like Matched. But that happens. I figure negative reviews are fine as long as they’re fair.
    My Hop

  3. December 3, 2010 9:27 pm

    Hey There! I found your blog through the hop!!! I love it!! I am addicted to anything romance!!! I hope that you are having a great weekend so far!! Feel free to visit my place at Addicted To Romance

    Happy Holidays!!!

  4. December 4, 2010 8:28 am

    Hi 🙂 I love that books can touch people in different ways. Personally, I remember being thrown a little at the beginning of Bitten but LOVED the books as I read through the series. I haven’t read Matched yet so I think it’ll be interesting to see my take on it. I totally agree with you though – when you read a book you don’t like it’s important not to fall into straight book bashing. I’ve only written a handful of reviews on books I REALLY didn’t like and have tried to mindful of it. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not so much.

    The Hollow was a PAINFUL read for me! I absolutely HATED it. In the book’s defense though I’d just lost my BFF to swine flu complications and where I “might” have seen the book as somewhat tragic, all I saw it as was plain brutal. I’m not joking when I shared I wanted to burn the book. I REVERE my books so that tells you alot 🙂

    Anyway thanks for coming by my blog yesterday. Looking forward to seeing more of you 🙂

    • December 4, 2010 8:54 am

      Hm, yes, circumstances can certainly affect the way we perceive the books we read. I know that there are books I’ve started in the past and quickly lost interest in only to glom onto them when I rediscover the book later. Georgette Heyer’s books were like that for me. But that’s a bit more about finding a book at the right time of your life. Sometimes you’re not in the right head-space to appreciate a book–or even to give it a fair chance. On the other hand, you might never be ready to appreciate certain books. That’s why it’s so awesome that there are so many of them–with more being published every day.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog, too!

  5. December 4, 2010 12:24 pm

    I’m waiting on Matched (I’m pretty sure I’m going to wait for the paperback!).
    Like you mentioned before, I like certain distopians but not all, so I’m going to take my time to read matched. I like your technique to prevent yourself from book-bashing. What I do is that I try to read my review as if I hadn’t written it and ask myself : Does it make sense? are the points clear? Is my personal life affecting how I Feel about this book? – I find it helps me.

    I’m with you on Bitten, I loved Darkest Powers but can’t seem to get into Armstrong’s adult books.

    • December 7, 2010 8:51 am

      I’d like your opinion on my review for Once in a Full Moon.. I really, really didn’t like it, and I’m afraid I might have gone over the top with my criticism. If you have time, I’d appreciate some feedback. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

