Skip to content

Roll Call for the Week of Nov. 28

November 29, 2010

Although technically, it’s the week of November 29. You’ll have to forgive me a bit of post-holiday exhaustion.

This marks my first week in the big time. I’ve been sent a couple of review copies from publishers, so that’s what I’m turning my attention to this week.

On Tuesday, I’ll be reviewing Once Bitten by Kalayna Price. Once Bitten is the first in Price’s Haven Series, about a shifter turned vampire. You might remember Price as the author of Grave Witch, which I previously reviewed and loved. I was ecstatic when I read the description for this series:

January 9, 2009

Kita Nekai, on the run and the smallest of her shifter clan-a calico cat among lions and tigers-is being hunted. She was expected to accept her role as her father’s successor whether or not her cat was up to the task of leading the clan. She disagreed. Now she’s less than a step ahead of the hunters, bone-tired, cold, and living hand-to-mouth in the city of Haven. And that’s the high point of her day. She’s also drugged, “accidently” turned into a vampire, and sentenced to death for recklessly creating a rogue shifter who tortures its human prey. She’s got seventy-two hours to find the rogue, evade a city full of hunters, prove she’s not responsible for the rogue, and keep the vampire council from killing her. All while sorting out an apprentice mage, a married ex-boyfriend shifter-hunter, and the vampire who made her.

Wednesday I’ll be doing the Waiting on Wednesday thing.

Thursday, I’ll have my review for the second book in Kalayna Price’s Haven Series: Twice Dead.

February 12, 2010

Newly undead shifter-turned-vampire Kita Nekai is coming to grips with the reality that her cat has not awakened since her change. What she needs is a little time to adjust to her new liquid diet and the increasingly complex attraction to her sire, Nathanial. What she gets is a headless harlequin. With the body count rising, Kita is dragged into a dangerous game of vampire politics. Her involvement draws the attention of an ancient vampire known as the Collector who has a penchant for acquiring the unusual – like a pureblood shifter-turned vampire. Kita still has unfinished business of her own and finds herself deeper in magical debt. It’s a bad time to be a kitten who can’t slip her skin.

Friday‘s another day on the blog hop.

Saturday I’ll be going against my newly acquired principles and reviewing Carole Nelson Douglas’ Silver Zombie. To be less vague, I waffled back and forth about this and ultimately decided that I don’t have time to go back and read the earlier Delilah Street books. So I’ll be breaking my promise to myself not to read series out of order for the sake of the wonderful people at Juno Press. I have this terrible feeling that I’m just being tempted to buy the first books in the series.

November 30, 2010

Zombies and Witches and Vamps . . . Oh, My!

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas—at least that’s Delilah Street’s hope. With Sin City’s vampire and werewolf mobs wanting to cash in her chips once and for all, she’s retreating with her partner Ric Montoya and half-wolfhound Quicksilver to her Kansas birthplace. Unfortunately, when it comes to finding trouble, there’s no place like home. . . .

It doesn’t take long before Delilah realizes she’s not in Vegas anymore. Zombie cowboys and spectral cattle drives are kicking up dust, the local weather girls are total witches who forecast perfect storms, and some Hollywood fanatic is recasting zombies as the greatest stars of the silver screen. And speaking of silver, Delilah’s special affinity for the all-purpose monster-repellent leads her posse straight down a silver brick road—and into a notso- fun house of mirrors—putting her face-to-face with her dicey past and a mystery woman named Lilith, who’s a real dead ringer for Delilah. The key word being dead.

Well, I’ll see you tomorrow for Once Bitten. I hope that, like me, you’re getting revved up for Private School Paranormals Week. It’s only 11 days away. See you soon.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

