Skip to content

The Thing About Love Triangles

November 9, 2010

I love a love triangle. It’s, like, tension squared. It makes the suspense of reading a book or series all the more intense. First, there’s what’s going to happen in the plot, then there’s what’s going to happen with the romantic storyline. I tend to pick sides early on. And (she guiltily admits) lose interest in a series if the character I’m backing doesn’t win. This is the downside of a triangle. If there’s only one romantic interest in a story, you know what to expect, basically. But if you’re reading a series and you become invested in one character over another, it’s all too easy for to be disappointed.

There’s also the fact that I tend to root for the bad boy. I’d pick Damon over Stefan any day. I was an Eric fan from the very first Sookie Stackhouse book. I believed that Clary belonged with Jace even when they were brother and sister. I guess I’m just made that way.

My original idea for this post was to make a list of love triangle titles that I have enjoyed reading, but I’m altering that plan. I’ll list a few titles that I particularly enjoyed, and then tell you about some titles I’ve seen/heard about.

A few favorites:

Cover of "Summers at Castle Auburn"

Cover of Summers at Castle Auburn

The main character, Corie, begins the novel with a crush on the handsome prince, Bryan. What she doesn’t know is that her much worthier cousin, Kent, is in love with her. The love triangle in this story is only part of what makes this book so enchanting.

  • Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

I confess that, again I’m rooting for the bad boy. This time his name is Death. I can’t wait for the next chapter in this series. I booed Falin the whole time he was in the book because I thought he was stealing Death’s limelight.

  • The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong

I don’t know what to say. I loved these books. I loved the way the love triangle between Chloe, Simon and Derek unfolded. If you love love triangles and Teen Paranormals, I hope you’ve already read these books.

  • The Strange Angels Series by Lili St. Crow

I am totally backing Christophe here. Just read them and you’ll see what I mean.

 

Okay, now for some titles I haven’t read but that have caught my eye because of the love triangle element:

  • Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers is one title that I’ve seen around, scoffed at–and then my ears perked up when I heard there was a love triangle.

  • Nightshade by Andrea Cremer is a book I was unsure of, despite it’s pretty cover. I read the first couple of pages and then decided, eh. Then it was featured on Love Triangle Week and it got seriously bumped up my TBR list.

  • The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott is a title that I saw in the bookstore last weekend. I’m really excited about this one, but I’ve been on a Paranormal kick for a while now and I rejected it for that reason. Now, of course, I’m kicking myself.

  • Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda is a book I’ve pulled off the shelf numerous times thinking it looked interesting, only to put it in the reject pile. I think I’m going to give it a millionth chance.

 

Okay, see you tomorrow for my review of Time Riders by Alex Scarrow. Happy Tuesday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

