Skip to content

Roll Call for the Week of Nov. 7

November 7, 2010

I’m toying with names for this section of the blog. I didn’t like “Weekly Review List” because the list is more than just reviews. This is this week’s incarnation. Feedback is very, very appreciated. Also, I hear the font was very hard to read. How is it now?

I had so much fun with New (Old) Series Week, I think I’m going to make it a tradition. I saw on another blog from one of the participants in my Matched Giveaway Contest, that Steph from Thoughts of a Book Junky was part of a Love Triangle Week. I am so, so, so bummed to have missed that one. But I got to thinking–and I’m toying with doing a Private School Paranormals Week. Any interest in joining me? Any advice on how to get such a thing started?

Okay, it’s time to get down to the nitty gritty. On Monday I’ll be reviewing the latest book in the Psy-Changeling Series: Play of Passion by Nalini Singh.

In his position as Tracker for the SnowDancer pack, Drew Kincaid must rein in rogue changelings who’ve lost control of their animal halves- even if it means killing those who’ve gone too far. But nothing in his life has prepared him for the battle he must now wage-to win the heart of a woman who makes his body ignite…and who threatens to enslave his wolf.

Tuesday, in honor of the Love Triangle Week that I missed, I’ll be posting a list of my favorite novels featuring one. It’ll probably be redundant, but I want to make it anyway. I love lists. Of books, anyway.

Wednesday I’ll be reviewing TimeRiders by Alex Scarrow. I knew nothing about this book prior to finding it, tucked away on the shelf. I’m pretty excited. See?

Maddy should have died in a plane crash. Liam should have died at sea when the Titanic sank. Sal should have died in a tragic fire. But a mysterious man whisked them away to safety.

Maddy, Liam, and Sal quickly learn that time travel is no longer just a hope for the future; it is a dangerous reality. And they weren’t just rescued from their terrible fates. . . they were recruited for the agency of TimeRiders created to protect the world from those seeking to alter the course of history for personal gain. By reliving the highly documented events in New York City on 9/11, they can closely monitor history for any deviations—large or small. When just such a change is detected, they are alerted that a threat is at hand unleashing the evil of the Nazis to wreak havoc with Earth’s present and future. Can Maddy, Liam, and Sal fulfill their destinies as keepers of time to save the world from utter destruction?

An exhilarating adventure that shifts readers back in time to Nazi Germany and then forward into an ever-changing present.

Thursday, I’ll be reviewing When Blood Calls by J.K. Beck. I’ve seen this book around the bookstores, but I wasn’t totally convinced by the back cover blurb. Then Beck showed up on a list of “If You Like Larissa Ione” books. I do, so I decided to give Beck a chance. Plus, if I like it, there’s two more books in the series already on the bookshelves.

Attorney Sara Constantine is thrilled with her promotion—until she finds out that she must now prosecute vampires and werewolves. The first defendant she’ll be trying to put away? Lucius Dragos, the sexy stranger with whom she recently shared an explosive night of ecstasy.

When Lucius kisses a beautiful woman sitting next to him at the bar, he’s hoping only to avoid the perceptive gaze of the man he’s planning to kill. But what starts as a simple kiss ignites into an all-consuming passion. Charged with murder, Luke knows that Sara is determined to see him locked away—unless he can convince her that he’s not a monster. And that might mean making the ultimate sacrifice.

Friday is another busy day for me. I’ll try to touch bases with an update, but there won’t be another review until…

Saturday, when I’ll be reviewing Jennifer Estep’s Spider’s Bite, the first book in the Elemental Assassins Series. I’ve been wanting to read this since I saw it on The Booksmugglers. I want to get caught up for with the series. I don’t like running so far behind. I mean, the newest book in the series comes out in April 2011!

“My name is Gin, and I kill people.”

My name is Gin Blanco. They call me the Spider — the most feared assassin in the South (and a part-time cook at the Pork Pit BBQ joint.) As a Stone elemental, I can hear the whispers of the gravel beneath my feet and feel the vibrations of the soaring mountains above me, though I don’t use my powers on the job unless I absolutely have to. Call it professional pride.

After a ruthless Air elemental double-crossed me and killed my handler, I’m out for revenge. And I’ll exterminate anyone who gets in my way. I may look hot in a miniskirt, but I’m still one of the bad guys. Which is why I’m in trouble when irresistibly rugged Detective Donovan Caine agrees to help. The last thing a coldhearted killer needs when she’s battling a magic more powerful than her own is a sexy distraction … especially when he wants her dead just as much as the enemy.

Okay, guys, I’m really looking forward to this week. But I’m sure I said that last week. And the week before. But it’s still true. See you soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

