Skip to content

Furnishing Your Library: Giveaway Contest for Matched by Ally Condie

November 2, 2010

I’m very, very excited to be offering my first ARC giveaway. Last month I gave away a new release. This month, I’m offering up the ARC I snagged from LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers Program. Matched is highly anticipated in most YA circles. It’s a Dystopian novel that has been compared to Mockingjay. I don’t know if it’s an apt comparison. After all there aren’t any fights to the death in Matched. Dystopian futures are handled with a lighter touch in Matched. It’s part science fiction, part romance, and part coming-of-age. It’s also one of the many Dystopian novels that I have recently seen popping up all over the place. Here are (just) a few I’ve heard about or read myself.

  • The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher

Vera and her brother Will live in the shadow of the Great Panic, in a country that has collapsed from environmental catastrophe. Water is hoarded by governments, rivers are dammed, and clouds are sucked from the sky. But then Vera befriends Kai, who seems to have limitless access to fresh water. When Kai suddenly disappears, Vera and Will set off on a dangerous journey in search of him-pursued by pirates, a paramilitary group, and greedy corporations.

  • The Last Survivors Series by Susan Beth Pfeffer. I’ve come at this series in a totally bass akwards kind of way. I listened to the dead and the gone on CD first, and now I’m going back for Life As We Knew It. Luckily, though the novels are connected, the former isn’t a sequel to the first. Both stories happen concurrently. What I’m really doing, though, is prepping myself for the last book, when the two narratives will collide. Hee, that was a little in-joke. Because the asteroid hits the moon? Nevermind.

It’s almost the end of Miranda’s sophomore year in high school, and her journal reflects the busy life of a typical teenager: conversations with friends, fights with mom, and fervent hopes for a driver’s license. When Miranda first begins hearing the reports of a meteor on a collision course with the moon, it hardly seems worth a mention in her diary. But after the meteor hits, pushing the moon off its axis and causing worldwide earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanoes, all the things Miranda used to take for granted begin to disappear. Food and gas shortages, along with extreme weather changes, come to her small Pennsylvania town; and Miranda’s voice is by turns petulant, angry, and finally resigned, as her family is forced to make tough choices while they consider their increasingly limited options. Yet even as suspicious neighbors stockpile food in anticipation of a looming winter without heat or electricity, Miranda knows that that her future is still hers to decide even if life as she knew it is over.

  • The Obernewtyn Books by Isobelle Carmody are awesome. I read them ages ago, but the later books are only just being released in the US. Don’t miss them.

After the nuclear holocaust of the Great White, the surviving humans condemn all Misfits (mutants) to either death by fire or exile to Obernewtyn, a remote mountain institution where mysterious experiments are performed on some exiles. Elspeth Gordie is a Misfit, struggling to hide her mutant mental abilities and earn a Normalcy Certificate. But when her secret is betrayed, she is sent to Obernewtyn, from which no one has ever escaped. At Obernewtyn she finds not only dreadful experiments, but ambitious overlords who seek to use the Misfits’ paranormal powers to recover the devastating secrets of nuclear war.

  • Gabrielle Zevin–of Elsewhere and Confessions of a Teenage Amnesiac fame–is getting in on the act with her newest novel, All These Things I’ve Done. Hmm, seems to have the flavor of the Last Survivors Series, at least titlewise. There’s nary a cover page to be found (let me know if I’m wrong), but here’s the description.

Set in a dystopian future where chocolate and caffeine are contraband, teenage cellphone use is illegal, and water and paper are carefully rationed, the series relates the ascension and ultimate downfall of 16-year old Anya Balanchine, the heir apparent to an important and dangerous New York City crime family.

Since Matched is an example of the Dystopian Genre, I thought I make the giveaway contest related to the book’s theme. In order to enter to win, you must leave a comment giving at least one example of a Dystopian novel. It can be one you’ve read, one you’d just heard about, your favorite, or even an upcoming title that you’re looking forward to. Please include the author’s name. That way, others can locate the book if they so desire.

Here are the other, more general, rules:

  1. Your entry must not be one of the books mentioned above.
  2. There is only one entry per person.
  3. If you are not signed in when you comment, please include your email address in your post so I can contact you if you win.
  4. The contest is open to US residents only.
  5. The contest will end at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time, on Saturday, November 6, 2010.

The winner will be chosen randomly and be announced on the following Sunday.

Have fun!

16 Comments
  1. gothchick414 permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:39 pm

    My favorite dystopian novel so far has to be “Fahrenheit 451” by Ray Bradbury. I know its not a very recently published choice, but I absolutely love and hate this novel at the same time, and had to use it as my example.

    * shudders at the thought of a future where books are burned “for the good of humanity” *

  2. jessica b permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:26 pm

    My favorite dystopian novel is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. The heroine, katniss, is really strong willed and smart. This book has adventure, suspense, and even a little romance. 🙂

    jecca.0104@gmail.com

  3. Serena Witzke permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:41 pm

    My fav dystopian novel is The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood- not only does it have an ‘angry feminist’ perspective, but it also offers a scathing commentary on modern academia.

    I’m looking forward to checking out Wither by Lauren DeStefano next March – it’s touted as a new Handmaid’s Tale.

    (dizzyweasel@gmail.com)

  4. SandyG265 permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:01 am

    I have to second The Hunger Games and it’s sequels. A really good series.

    sgiden at verizon.net

  5. November 3, 2010 10:15 am

    Shade’s Children by Garth Nix is one of the best books I’ve ever read, set in a future where all adults have vanished and children are taken once they hit a certain age to be taken apart and remade as half-human, half-machine monsters. This was one of those books that left such an impression on me that I can still remember vividly whole scenes and conversations from the book- ten years later.

  6. Elise permalink
    November 3, 2010 4:53 pm

    Delirium by Lauren Oliver. Love is considered a disease in this dystopian world and they have to cure you of it. Looking forward to reading it.
    caliblue7 at gmail dot com

  7. Moridin permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:48 pm

    One of my favorite dystopian novels is Lois Lowry’s The Giver. There are also two sequels, Gathering Blue and Messenger.

  8. November 4, 2010 8:45 am

    I haven’t read a huge amount of dystopian novels, but I do love the ones I have read. It is a great, thought-provoking theme for a book to take, especially for young adults. One dystopian novel I enjoyed lately was Feed by M.T. Anderson. I read it for a YA fantasy/sci fi book club, and both the book and the discussion were really interesting.

    I tried to snag Matched from LibraryThing early reviewers but didn’t get it. 🙂

  9. November 4, 2010 7:22 pm

    My favorite Dystopian novel is ‘Uglies’ by Scott Westerfeld. renahe_90(AT)hotmail(DOT)com

  10. November 4, 2010 8:42 pm

    oooh, I didn’t know The Giver had sequels! Thanks for letting me know. For a dystopian novel, I recommend John Brunner’s book, Stand on Zanzibar. It has a sequel called The Sheep Look Up which is also pretty good.

  11. November 5, 2010 12:29 pm

    The “Among the Hidden” series by Margaret Peterson Haddix I believe would qualify. I was going to say the “Giver” but that one was already mentioned. I wanted to add something new.

  12. November 5, 2010 2:43 pm

    Mine would have to be Delirium by Lauren Oliver… It was a great story!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    stephanie_xoxo27@yahoo.com

  13. November 5, 2010 4:05 pm

    I haven’t read this book yet but it is on my TBR is The Forest of Hands and Teeth By Carrie Ryan.

  14. Julie permalink
    November 6, 2010 5:22 pm

    My all-time favorite dystopian novel is 1984 by George Orwell. I know that it was not the first one or anything like that, but that book still blew me away. I often find myself thinking about the Party or Big Brother or about random quotes from the book.

    Since I had such a good experience with that one, I have tried many other dystopian books, such as Gone, Life As We Knew It, House of Stairs, Shadow of the Gloom-World, Unwind, and so many more. I would love to add Matched to the growing list.

  15. November 7, 2010 10:33 pm

    The Hunger Games, The Scorch Trials and The Giver.

Comments are closed.

