Skip to content

Plain Kate Addendum

October 18, 2010
tags:

I realized today that there was something I totally forgot to mention in my Plain Kate book review. Something I totally loved. Taggle, Kate’s talking companion-cat was so right on in his personality. I swear, Erin Bow must have a cat that’s related to mine. They act in the same way. Here are some of “choice bits”:

p. 52

“What are you doing?” she demanded.

“I’m coming with you,” [Taggle] drawled. “Please wake me when we are done fleeing.”

“You couldn’t follow?”

Dogs follow,” he said, in such a horrified tone that she didn’t bother arguing.

p. 57

“Well. I am not afraid. But to protect you, Katerina, I will be discreet.” Plain Kate considered a cat’s idea of discretion, and was frightened. But it was the best she could do.

“Now let me go,” said Taggle. “I have business to conduct in the language of fur and claw.”

p. 84

Taggle, meanwhile, made himself popular, killing rats and bringing a rabbit into camp every evening, preening in the praise–silently, thank God, though at night he recounted¬† choice bits to Kate: “Rye Baro says I am a princeling; he split the leg bone for me so that I could eat the marrow. They love me. And I’m sure they’ll keep you too.”

p. 179

“I did not catch the fish,” Taggle said, continuing his tale of food as he followed her. “I could, of course, but there is the matter of getting wet. He gave them to me. Though I still do not like him.”

p. 255

Cream was shouldering her way into the grove, tangling her mane in the low branches. Drina got up and set her free, then got out the softest brush and started to curry the horse’s neck. Taggle climbed into Kate’s lap. “You could do that for me, you know.”

I should add, however, that in skimming through the book to find these bits, I noticed how often Bow used the word “preened” to described Taggle’s movements. But it is a perfect fit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

