Skip to content

Book Reviews (and Other Things) for the Week of Oct. 17

October 17, 2010

Golly, it’s another week already. They go by so fast sometimes. It feels like I just made the list for last week and here I am again. I overextended myself last week and ended up having to scale back. I’m going to try to come up with a more realistic schedule this week, but I’ll be out-of-town on Friday and Saturday, so there won’t be any posts on those days. Sorry!

So what do I have planned for this week? Well, I’m glad you asked.

Monday you’ll be luck enough to hear my opinions about Magic Bleeds, the latest novel in the Kate Daniels series. I planned to save it for later in the week, but I picked it up–just for a peek, you understand–and it’s  been glued to the front of my face ever since.

Kate Daniels cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to deal with-especially if they involve Atlanta’s shapeshifting community.

And now there’s a new player in town-a foe that may be too much for even Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family.

Tuesday you will finally (I promise this time, really) get the updated and organized (Somewhat) Comprehensive List O’ Werewolf books that I promised last week. Well, I mentioned that I was overwhelmed, right? Something had to give. I’m sorry! I’m hanging my head in shame. I’m weeping into my own hands. This week, I promise.

Wednesday, joy of joys, I will finally be sharing my views on the Advanced Review Copy of Matched by Ally Condie. It arrived on Friday and I’m totally psyched to review my first ARC. Aren’t you psyched that you get to read it?

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

I don’t know yet when my third review will be posted. It depends on my schedule this week. It might be Thursday and it might be late on Saturday. Either way, it’ll be Anya Bast’s Witch Heart. Okay, no, I haven’t read any of the other books in this series. And yes, I know that’s a risk, but the plot of Witch Heart sounded a lot more interesting to me than that of Witch Fire (first in the Elemental Witches Series). I’m posting the description from the back cover of the book since all Amazon has is one lousy line. Harumph.

With a strange and powerful type of elemental magick, Claire isn’t destined to remain a demon’s handmaiden. Yet this has been her fate since she was six, when her warlock mother brought her to Eudae. Now an adult, she’s about to discover her true power– and how far others are willing to go to take it away…

As part of a mission with the Coven, Adam Tyrell rescues Claire from her enslavement– and finds himself immediately taken with the beautiful witch. But this charming playboy soon learns that it’s easier to steal Claire from demons than win her heart, for her life as a servant has ravaged her spirit. But Adam’s determination to protect her from the warlocks who want to harness her magick for evil begins to weaken Claire’s resistance–and  in the heat of danger they find themselves surrendering to the lure of their deepest desires…

Awww… Who wouldn’t want to read that? Joking. I’m as embarrassed by Romance book descriptions and taglines as I am by their covers.

 

It’s been fun. I’ll catch you tomorrow. I have reading to do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

