Skip to content

Book Reviews for the Week of October 10

October 10, 2010

Hey guys! With Werewolf Week officially at an end, I’ve got a whole slew of new titles that I’m just itching to get to. Here’s what’s on my plate:

I’m starting the week (Monday) with the hottest title to come out last week. Yes, you got it: The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook. This will be the first book I’ve read by this author and I am very, very excited about it. It’s gotten a lot of buzz, of course, but the fact that it’s both Steampunk and Romance pretty much guaranteed I would be buying it.

First in an all-new series where seductive danger and steampunk adventure abound in the gritty world of the Iron Seas.

After the Iron Duke freed England from Horde control, he instantly became a national hero. Now Rhys Trahaearn has built a merchant empire on the power-and fear-of his name. And when a dead body is dropped from an airship onto his doorstep, bringing Detective Inspector Mina Wentworth into his dangerous world, he intends to make her his next possession.

But when Mina uncovers the victim’s identity, she stumbles upon a conspiracy that threatens the lives of everyone in England. To save them, Mina and Rhys must race across zombie-infested wastelands and treacherous oceans-and Mina discovers the danger is not only to her countrymen, as she finds herself tempted to give up everything to the Iron Duke.

Tuesday I’ll be posting my very first contest. You’ll have to tune in then to find out what the prize will be–and how you can get it. Wheeee!

Thursday I’ve got another much talked-about book: Grave Witch by Kalayna Price. I entered into a contest to win this one myself–but couldn’t wait to see if I’d won it before I’d bought it on my own. In case you’ve been living under your bed (or in some other internet-free zone), here’s the cover and the description:

Not even death can save her now.

As a grave witch, Alex Craft can speak to the dead-she’s even on good terms with Death himself. As a consultant for the police, she’s seen a lot of dark magic, but nothing has prepared her for her latest case. When she’s raising a “shade” involved in a high profile murder, it attacks her, and then someone makes an attempt on her life. Someone really doesn’t want her to know what the dead have to say, and she’ll have to work with mysterious homicide detective Falin Andrews to figure out why…

 

Friday I’m reaching back into the past with a title I’ve mentioned before. It’s the Teen Historical Fantasy Plain Kate by Erin Bow. I wandered around the Teen section on Saturday and was utterly uninspired–until I spotted this familiar title. I can’t wait to start reading it.

Plain Kate lives in a world of superstitions and curses, where a song can heal a wound and a shadow can work deep magic. As the wood-carver’s daughter, Kate held a carving knife before a spoon, and her wooden charms are so fine that some even call her “witch-blade” — a dangerous nickname in a town where witches are hunted and burned in the square.For Kate and her village have fallen on hard times. Kate’s father has died, leaving her alone in the world. And a mysterious fog now covers the countryside, ruining crops and spreading fear of hunger and sickness. The townspeople are looking for someone to blame, and their eyes have fallen on Kate.

Enter Linay, a stranger with a proposition: In exchange for her shadow, he’ll give Kate the means to escape the town that seems set to burn her, and what’s more, he’ll grant her heart’s wish. It’s a chance for her to start over, to find a home, a family, a place to belong. But Kate soon realizes that she can’t live shadowless forever — and that Linay’s designs are darker than she ever dreamed.

Saturday I’m shaking off my post-Bayou Moon disappointment with the third Kate Daniels book: Magic Strikes. I’m totally addicted to this series now, so expect to see Magic Bleeds come along next week. I figure you won’t mind if I squeeze the whole series in. Right? Um…right? Hello?

Drafted into working for the Order of Merciful Aid, mercenary Kate Daniels has more paranormal problems than she knows what to do with. And in Atlanta, where magic comes and goes like the tide, that’s saying a lot.

But when Kate’s werewolf friend Derek is discovered nearly dead, she must confront her greatest challenge yet.

That’s it for this week. I’ll see you tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

