Skip to content

Graphic Novel Madness

October 2, 2010
Cover of "Mercy Thompson: Homecoming"

Cover of Mercy Thompson: Homecoming

At the bookstore today, I noticed that Outlander has been rewritten as a graphic novel from Jamie’s perspective. I’d already noticed that Twilight had gotten the graphic novel treatment. Even Patricia Briggs has made a Mercy Thompson prequel in graphic novel form. Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments graphic novels are in the works, too. I’ve never been a graphic novel fan. I checked out Mercy Thompson: Homecoming from the library because I’m such a fan–but I didn’t really like it. I prefer to have my own, internal vision of the characters. Plus, seeing Mercy as a buxom, scantily clad comic book heroine was disappointing. I like the version in my head a whole lot better. She doesn’t look like the characters on the book covers, either, I can tell you.

A quick search on Amazon indicates that novels turned graphic is a popular phenomena. Some books you’ll be seeing:

  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  • The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathon Stroud
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  • On the Origin of Species by–yes–Charles Darwin

Huh. Well, I guess if you can’t get people to read books any other way…

I can’t wait to see if an adaptation shows up on a syllabus. Heh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

