Skip to content

No Matter How Many Books I Have, I Still Want More

September 16, 2010
tags:

I have a stack of TBRs that only grows and grows and yet I know that this weekend I will not be able to resist buying more. I’m like Kresley Cole’s Valkyries–except instead of being entranced by shiny objects, I am entranced by books. Unfortunately, it’s an expensive habit to maintain so I’ve had to explore ways and means of getting books inexpensively. This isn’t always possible–and I confess that I buy lots of new books–but I have a trick or two up my sleeve.

Every year my local library has a book fair. It gives me something to look forward to in May, when there’s till a month before summer vacation starts. The book fair is an excellent place to pick up quantities of books because it’s always cheap. I love finding books that I’ve either lost or borrowed from the library and therefore I do not own. Most of the time I feel I can’t justify the expense of buying a book I’ve already read, but that’s never an issue at my library’s book sale. The best part? It lasts for two days, so I can always go back for any book I decide I can’t live without.

The other place I like to get books is on Paperback Swap. I love it because I buy so many books that turnover is important if I want to sleep in my bed. With Paperback Swap, I can turn in books that I’ve read and no longer want in exchange for credit. Setting up an account is free, but when someone requests a book, you have to pay for shipping. This balanced by the fact that, when you get a book, it’s free. I build up my credit for those times when my wallet is lighter than usual. It’s also great for getting certain older books that cost a lot if you buy them used (and nothing if you request them from PB Swap).

I also like to browse Abebooks.com. The website allows me to search the inventory for my local used bookstore. Then I can order the books and have them shipped to the store, which means that I’ve eliminated the cost of shipping and handling.

I don’t know if anyone is interested, or if I’m talking to dead air. No doubt where I get my books from is less interesting than vampires, reincarnation, shapeshifters and warlocks. Oh, well. You’ll have to come back tomorrow for the warlocks, when I review The Native Star.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

