Skip to content

Reviews for the Week of Sept. 12

September 12, 2010

Back again! Thanks to everyone who has stopped by my blog. It’s been exciting to think about all kinds of people visiting here. Now on to the nitty gritty:

This week on Ruby’s Reads, I have a fantabulous collection up for review, starting on Monday with Kirsten Miller‘s The Eternal Ones. This book has the unenviable tag-line of “What if love refused to die?” Despite such hokum, I picked it up because of the bright red cover and bought it because I have heard a lot about the Kiki Strike novels. The Eternal Ones features Haven, a seventeen year old who, as a child, was plagued by bizarre visions of a boy named Ethan. Her grandmother believed that her visions were signs of  demonic possession, so Haven blocked them out. Now that she is older, her visions have returned and lead her to New York in search of the man who was her soulmate in a past life. Or was he? Cue dramatic music.

Tuesday is Favorites day. I haven’t decided on my topic for sure yet. I’m thinking angels. Maybe. We’ll see.

Cover of "What I Saw And How I Lied"

Cover of What I Saw And How I Lied

Wednesday I will review the National Book Award Winner, What I Saw and How I Lied. This book–if you haven’t already heard–and I’m sure you must have–is about fifteen year old Evelyn Spooner. Evie grew up during WWII, but now that the war is over, she’s ready for her life to start. When she, her mother and her stepfather take a trip to Florida, Evie gets what she wished for. But what is supposed to be the beginning of Evie’s adult life morphs into tragedy. God, I sound like that guy who does the voice-overs for movie trailers.

I can’t tell you about Thursday yet. No, not because I’m keeping secrets (who, moi?) but because I don’t know what I’m going to do. Maybe review a book. Maybe tell you about some books I am salivating over. Maybe none of the above. It’s surprises like these that are the spice of life. Or something.

Friday, you lucky dogs, you, get to read my review of M.K. Hobson’s The Native Star. I’m really excited about this one. It’s Steampunk meets the Wild West. Steampunk is my new best friend. We’re likethis. Also, I heard a few good things about it on the AAR boards and now I’m chomping at the bit. Here’s the blurb from Amazon:

In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West.

The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession—and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.

Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time—and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine—in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all—the magic of the human heart.

Finally, I will cap the week off (on Saturday) with Cassandra Clare’s prequel to the Mortal Instruments series. I have been impatiently waiting for this book since I finished City of Glass. Oh, did I forget to mention the title? Whoops. It’s Clockwork Angel. More Steampunk, yea! I find it hard to believe that no one knows what this book is about, but just in case:
Magic is dangerous–but love is more dangerous still.When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by–and torn between–two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length…everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world…and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

I hope you guys tune in–either to read my reviews or to give me advice or to let me know what I’m doing wrong. Anything! As long as it’s not too mean.
Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: