Skip to content

I wish I could read for a living

September 12, 2010
Cover of "Must Love Hellhounds"

Cover of Must Love Hellhounds

I was in the middle of making dinner (polenta with red sauce, btw) when I suddenly recalled that I  bought two  books this weekend  that they didn’t make the Weekly Review List. That means I have to put them off until next week! I’m devastated. I’m inconsolable. Anyway, these are my TBRs:

Must Love Hellhounds (an anthology) by Charlaine Harris, Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews and Meljean Brook.

Primal Instincts by Susan Sizemore. This will be my first Sizemore. I’m sure it’s entirely out of order in terms of the series, but I couldn’t help myself. Her name came up on list for people who like Kresely Cole–and, hello, have we met? I vow to review these books first thing next week. Or to try to fit them in some time this week. I’m sure my students would like an entire day of silent reading. Hm…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 11:16 am

    OK, first of all… how awesome is Kresley Cole? The only gripe I have about that author is that she doesn’t write FASTER. I need “IAD” books coming out every month. It almost physically pains me wait.

    Secondly… I’m looking forward to seeing what you have to say about Sizemore. Have you read Gena Showalter’s series on the Pandora’s Box demons? (The name is escaping me, but it’s the series that always has “Darkest” in the titles.) You should check those out – they are good books to keep one occupied while waiting for Cole’s books to come out. Showalter is not as great of a writer as Cole, but she is a good story-teller.

    • rubylavender permalink
      September 15, 2010 4:49 pm

      To respond accordingly ;):

      First of all, I think you know that I agree with you wholeheartedly about Kresley Cole.

      Secondly, I have books I’m trying to finish for reading this week, so more than likely, I won’t get to the Sizemore until next week. Bah. And I have read the first book in the Pandora’s Box Series. (According to Fictiondb it’s called the Lords of Underworld Series.) I’m afraid that I wasn’t all that crazy about The Darkest Night. At least, not enough to buy any of the other books in the series. Though I read on the forum on Kresley Cole’s website that not only are she and Gena friends, but that Nix makes a crossover appearance. This may mean a resurrection in my interest in Showalter’s books. You never know.

      Third, Thanks for visit my blog–and even more abundant thanks for commenting!

  2. September 20, 2010 7:50 am

    You’re welcome – I am really enjoying your blog. And I am very impressed by how often you update. I need to get the same level of motivation for my own blog. (It’s so hard to keep posting when you know that no one is reading.)

    I would suggest that you stick to the Undeworld series – give a couple of more books a try. The first one was definitely not the best book of the series. In fact, it’s one of my least favorite, because there is a decided lack of plot wrt to the romance and the heroine makes my eye twitch, because she’s so annoying.

    I’m interested in seeing what you have to say about Sizemore. Have you read the Demonica series by Larissa Ione? It’s gotten great reviews on AAR and seems similar to Cole.

    • rubylavender permalink
      September 20, 2010 6:49 pm

      I have mixed feelings about Larissa Ione’s books. I bought the first one (Pleasure Unbound), started to read it and put it down again. Then, in one of those random flukes, I found the second book in my library’s used bookstore. I loved it. It’s called Desire Unchained and it’s so good I couldn’t wait to read Passion Unleashed. I was not, unfortunately, as enamored of Wraith’s book as I was of Shade’s. On the plus side, I went back and tried the first book again and liked it a lot better. I haven’t read books four and five in the series.

Leave a Reply

