Skip to content

Favorites Tuesdays

September 7, 2010

I hereby declare Tuesdays Favorites Days. On Tuesdays I will draw up a list of certain favorites of mine, based on a theme. The books will cross all boundaries, such as genres and adult fiction to young adult fiction. The only two requirements the books on a favorites list must meet are that they a) fit the week’s theme and b) are awesome reads.

This week: Werewolf Favorites.

A note: I am relatively new to the werewolf subgenre. It used to be that I avoided werewolf books like the plague…until I read the first book on this list and then I couldn’t get enough. Now I am completely addicted to these alpha heroes with their strong protective instincts. All the books on this list feature at least one character that is a werewolf. I hope you find something that catches your interest (that you haven’t already read).

1) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (click on the cover image for the link). Sam is the werewolf in this book. He isn’t exactly your typical werewolf type. He is a sensitive, artistic character who is also sweet. I haven’t yet read the sequel, Linger, but it’s on my list.

2) Moon Called and the rest of the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. This series features one of my favorite heroines (Mercy). I totally want to be her. Only, without the tattoos. Plus, Adam (who is only one of the many werewolves that populate this series) is totally and completely, amazingly my boyfriend. Or he would be if, you know, he were real.

3) The Summoning and the rest of the Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong. A long time ago, I read Dime Store Magic. I enjoyed it but it didn’t make me want to read more of Armstrong’s stuff. I wasn’t even interested in the Darkest Powers trilogy until I read the review on The Book Smugglers. I decided to get the first book from the library—and now I wish I’d gone whole hog and bought them—I lurve this series. Chloe (the heroine) is a great character and Derek (the werewolf) only gets better as you see more and more of him. I hope these two show up in the second installment of this series.

4) A Hunger Like No Other (and the other werewolf books in the Immortals After Dark series) by Kresley Cole. I avoided Cole’s books because I thought their covers and their names were over the top. I couldn’t imagine any books under those covers would be any good. Boy, was I wrong. That’ll teach me the age-old lesson about judging books by their covers.

5) Slave to Sensation and Branded by Fire in Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series. I also believe that Singh’s next novel, Play of Passion, features a romance between two werewolves. I’m looking forward to this series because it means that we will learn more about the other werewolves—one in particular. Yes, I am one of those people who is anxiously awaiting Hawk’s book. In the meantime, I’ll have to comb the rest of the books in the series for paltry glimpses.

That’s it for this week’s favorites. See you tomorrow for my review of Eve Silver’s book, Demon‘s Kiss.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

